• Ashley

Review: For The Duke's Eyes Only by Lenora Bell


If adventure has a name...it must be Lady India Rochester. The intrepid archaeologist possesses a sharp blade and an even sharper knack for uncovering history's forgotten women. Unfortunately, she has one annoying weakness: the dangerously handsome Duke of Ravenwood. Former best friend. Current enemy. And the man who dared to break her heart. Daniel Bonds, the Duke of Ravenwood, is a thrill-seeking antiquities hunter who only plays by one rule: Never fall in love. He's in it for the fortune and glory. At least that's what he wants the world to think. He's sworn to hide his tangled web of secrets, especially from the one woman he cares about and will protect at any cost. But when a priceless relic is stolen from the British Museum, the rivals must align forces. Racing to recover the stolen antiquity and avert an international disaster? All in a day's work. Avoiding their buried feelings? More and more impossible. For love is about to become the greatest treasure of all. The grand adventure begins...now!

Y'all. For The Duke's Eyes Only was so much fun. It was my first Lenora Bell book, and it definitely will not be the last. It's funny and fast-paced and sexy and sweet and everything you want from a historical romance--including feminist and sex-positive.

This blurb implied that it would be a bit more of a love-to-hate-to-love with a lot of angst, but I'll be honest with you--it's pretty lowkey angst, and that's okay. These characters have a complicated past that informs their present. It's not just "I hate you so much, but I'll definitely make out with you and etc." It's more like, "I really want to hate you/I really want you to hate me, but also I don't, so let's make out and etc." India and Daniel make a great relic-hunting team, traipsing around the place to find the REAL ROSETTA STONE.

I read this book in about a day. I did not want to put it down. It reminded me of the characters I loved the most in the Spindle Cove series from Tessa Dare--I love it when historical romances get all science-y on me.

I don't totally understand the title, but I also don't care too much. The banter between these characters is great, they keep each other on their toes, and the making out and etc is also fun.

The only thing that bothers me is that to society at large, Daniel is supposed to be this unfeeling, thrill-seeking playboy. He's supposed to indicate to the world that there aren't any people who mean anything to him because really he deals in secrets and no one is ever supposed to know. But we don't ever really see that character, and India finds him out pretty quickly. Is he good at his job? I have no clue.

Should you read it? If you haven't read a Lenora Bell book yet, and are a fan of historical romances in the vein of Sarah MacLean or Tessa Dare, I think For The Duke's Eyes Only is a great place to start!

4 1/2 Stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Expected publication September 18, 2018 by Avon

Check it out on Goodreads

#2018release #arc #historicalromance #fourandahalfstars

© 2020 by What She's Read.

  • Instagram
  • Grey Twitter Icon